Fifty-Nine Days, Part Fifteen

“So she knows, then?”

Elicoor slumped down onto his bed with a relieved groan. He was happy to finally be home. “No, she does not.”

“What do you mean? You just said that you let your tongue slip. To be honest, I am surprised you are not dead.”

“It was not what I said so much as it was my reaction to my own words. I made her suspicious. That glimmer of hope that her son may still be alive is strong, Luraela.”

She sank her hip and stood lazily, raising her brow. “And what happened?”

“I simply told her that I talk to him just as she did. That I speak to the wind, which is not entirely a lie.”

“She believed you? That’s a first…”

“She did not have a choice. Consider how ridiculous it seems that she jump at the first hint that Harpagos may be alive, when he obviously is not? She saw his corpse, saw his face. Talking her down was not a challenge, not to mention Everroot was there.”

“Perhaps that is because you know her, Elicoor.”

“Perhaps…”

The huntress crossed the floor and sat next to Elicoor, placing her hand on his shoulder. He sighed in response, and he lifted his head and stared off into the distance ahead of him. “Esixa’s cunning was underestimated. I wouldn’t doubt if she had planned her revenge on Xana for decades.” the mage rumbled.

“She nearly had everything perfect, from what I could find. The planted body, all of the connections…even that woman who pretended to be me and Xana’s child from the future,” The woman laughed, and shook her head, “Why the hell did they all believe that? Why did Xana think that person was really me?”

“Well, she has not seen you since Argus, and you were both young, not to mention how long ago that was. Apparently this imposter found something out about you that only Xana would know, and used it to her advantage.”

Luraela considered this. “Alright, and then the future rubbish? Really?”

He looked at her. “I maintain my point about Esixa.”

“Alright, fine. It still doesn’t make it any easier to approach my sister, especially if she is becoming unstable again.

“What do you think she would do, Luri?”

She scoffed. “I don’t know, rip my head off?”

“Oh, come now.” Elicoor said, chuckling.

“You think I am kidding? When she finds out Harpagos…bah…”

He sighed again, and tilted his head to watch the fire that lit the room. “Just keep taking good care of him. The druid is working on a way to stop the corruption flowing through Lycannon’s veins.”

“I hope you’re right, Elicoor. Your children’s birthday is soon. He will want to see his sister…” Luraela said, trailing off.

Leave a comment